Skip to content

Faded

May 27, 2012

This is for Illustration Friday – the week’s theme being ‘Faded’.

I was gonna try and get all flash and have the colour from the jeans going into the bunny outfit OR have the red from her tongue stain the jeans – I’ll keep that if “Stain” ever comes up as the theme!

Anyhoo – hope you like it.

And a big thanks to all of you who came here from IF last week – I got loads of views!!!

Oh and by the way, this took 26 mins to scan and colour with Gimp.

 

From → Daily Book, Life!

4 Comments
  1. I really like the uncompromised natural pen lines you’re accomplishing with GIMP. Do you think it can replace Illustrator for your purposes?

    • Thanks. Apologies if I didn’t make myself clear. I only used Gimp to colour and tone.
      But the previous post Still Blinkin Inkin is inked using Gimp.
      I’m still finding my feet with it, but currently I’m using the Paintbrush tool, with pressure for thickness only. And sticking to 1.0 & 0.5 settings.

  2. Great illustration 🙂 Impressed that you created this in GIMP, I’ve been told it’s every bit as good as Photoshop and Illustrator but for some reason I could just never get the hang of using it!!

  3. Hello again! As mentioned I didn’t actually draw this illustration using Gimp. Only the colouring.
    This was drawn on plain ol’ paper with a plain ol’ Copic Multiliner – the nib gets mishapen through my heavy-handedness and is great for drawing with when thsi happens – even though I initially started to use them for a consistent line.

    My previous blog post is drawn using Gimp – and I’m starting to get the hang it. I need to start using the Pen tool though.

    I’ve never used Illustrator much – but I have started messing about with Inkscape – and to compound by digital drawing confusion I got Manga Studio Debut as a birthday present last week. But I’m not gonna start looking at it until I finish my outstanding commissions, otherwise I’ll get distracted!

    Gimp seems to all the things I need that I used to do in Photoshop – the one thing I did miss initally was “Save for Web” – which made my life really easy. There is similar functionality in Gimp.

Leave a Reply

